A new school initiative-Teacher Coaching

As I finish the first term in my new role as a Teacher-Coach it’s time for me to reflect on what I’ve learned and how I can move forward to improve my skills as a coach.

In the last week of term I asked two coachees if they would like to talk about their experiences at a morning briefing. Their response was immediate as they excitedly agreed to my request.

I had no idea what they were going to talk about and as they began to speak the hair on my neck literally stood on end as I found myself becoming somewhat emotional! It was at this point that the power of coaching “struck” me, really deeply I must add.

As they speak I notice:

  • Their passion for their newfound skills
  • Their realisation of their growth
  • Their feeling of self-worth as teachers
  • The appreciation they show for having had the protected time to reflect and improve on their practice
  • The changes they’ve made in their classes and the effects on their students (authentic action)
  • Their self –awareness in terms of their practice
  • Their feelings of empowerment
  • Their acknowledgment of the benefits of them having taken the risk to be part of the coaching process

I was blown away by a statement expressed by a coachee:

“I feel like if this (coaching) is what the school is willing to invest in me, then I feel obligated to give my best to the school and my students at all times.”

What surprised me?

  • The extent of the power of the comments made.
  • Although coaching is an extremely active in terms of listening and asking the right questions, it’s the coachee who does a lot of the “work” in terms of thinking and pushing themselves forward. However, they expressed that it was the coach who moved them on their way, when in fact it was the coachees who did the moving!

What did I notice about myself?

  • I learned so much about myself. I always thought that I was a pretty active listener but I had to work at being present and getting rid of my internal dialogue. I learned that it was NOT AT ALL about me but solely about the coachee.
  • I realised I was easily able to notice the potential in others and it felt good to recognise that potential.
  • I had to become succinct in clarifying people’s thoughts.
  • I was growing and learning with the coachees.

What did I notice about others?

  • The trust that is developed in the coaching relationship helps coachees open up and feel safe to take risks
  • The excitement after each session due to a sense of accomplishing movement towards goals
  • Appreciation for the process.
  • The extremely positive effects of the power of coaching.

Where to from here?

I completed Phase 1 of Growth Coaching International’s coaching program, which I found extremely motivating and stimulating. I walked away knowing that I have lots of fine-tuning to do. Particularly when all avenues of questioning fails, leading questions are NOT an option. Re-defining goals using ISMART (Inspiring; Specific;Measurable; Achievable; Results driven; Time-bound) goals is the best way forward.

Coaching is energizing, fulfilling and exciting. It’s a win win for all involved and the best thing about it is that it genuinely affects lives.

 

 

7 thoughts on “A new school initiative-Teacher Coaching

  1. What an amazing process. How wonderful to see such a positive outcome after such a short time working together. It will be wonderful to hear more about this powerful learning journey as it progresses. Well done to all involved!

  2. That is a powerful statement from your coachee!

    I also find it hard to combat the tendency to want to utilise leading statements. I’m so pleased that you are finding value in the GCI course. I’m learning from you now!

  3. Hi Cameron
    Thanks for taking the time to comment on my post.
    Whew, it’s hard work when something seems obvious to you and you can’t say it or allude to it!
    Enjoy the rest of your break.
    Joc

  4. The coaching experience for me as a coachee has been a highly valuable experience, not just from and educational perspective but personally as well. No matter how long you have been teaching you can always learn something new. As educators we need to constantly shift our thinking and change our strategies to prevent ourselves from becoming stale and complacent. I would highly recommend the teacher coaching program to all staff.

  5. Great to hear Ed’s comments about the coaching process from the point of view of coach as well as the coachee’s reflections about the process and how it impacted on them. Last year I went through a process of being coached in an area I found difficult – namely getting to grips with the changes in IT and possible inclusions into my weekly teaching program. I needed support to develop skills and see possibilities that could seamlessly work into my teaching repetoire. I agree with the the comment made above from Elena that it is a worthwhile exercise as educators to keep us up to date and open to new changes and possibilities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *